Surprising Foods You Think Are Vegan But Aren't

Nagini Shree |Jan 26, 2019

Is apple juice vegan? What about crips and figs? Here is list of food you should watch out for if you are on vegan diet.

Veganism is a type of vegetarian diet, which excludes meat, eggs, dairy products and all other animal-derived ingredients from meals. This diet trend has become increasingly widespread and raises people's awareness about health, climate change, animal welfare.

What does a vegan eat? This is perhaps the most common question about veganism. Some of the foods vegans will surprise you.

1. Apple juice

5a4e4d1e7101ad5bf305b0c9 750 563

Some apple juices are clarified using fish bladders in the production process. Therefore, before you take a sip of apple juice, make sure the brand the beverage that you drink  is 100% vegan and avoid any isinglass ingredient.

2. Bagels

Tai Xuong

As Holland & Barrett's senior nutritionist, Donia Hilal:

Screenshot 82

Check out the brands using synthetic L-cysteine which is suitable for vegan.

3. Beer

Beer Cereal Header

Some brands also add isinglass when producing beer and wine. This gelatin-based substance derived from fish bladders makes final product purer and vibrant. Since those ingredients aren't listed on wines and beers, you should ask a store employee or contact the brand if you have questions.

4. Crisps


You might expect crisps. However, vegetarians presently have to contend with animal fat or meat extracts as part of the flavoring. This goes for even varieties like tomato ketchup or BBQ that sound ‘safe’.

5. Figs

Fresh Figs Jpg 860x0 Q70 Crop Scale

Many minds might be blown away by this fact. For a fig to be edible, they have to have at least one dead female wasp stuck inside. But as the female wasp dies inside, an enzyme from the fruit breaks down the body into protein.

6. White sugar

Img 20180416 5ad453a6052dd

Manufacturers sometimes lighten sugar with bone char, made from the bones of cattle to make it whiter and achieve its desirable white colour. Organic sugar, agave nectar or evaporated cane juice are vegan alternatives.


Sort by Newest | Popular