Decade Review: Watch The Full List Of Oscars-Winning Films From 2010 To 2019

Ankita Chetana |Dec 30, 2019

Oscars is an annual film award festival so as we are coming to the end of a decade, here’s a review list of Oscars-winning films for the last 10 years.

Cracking an era of social films around the issues arising in the society, the decade of 2010-2019 has been full of emotions with many Hollywood masterpieces. As a review for a complete decade, let’s take a look at the full list of Oscars-winning films in the last 10 years.

2010 – The Hurt Locker

The Hurt Locker

Opening for the award of a decade, The Hurt Locker won the title of the Best Picture at 2010 Oscars. Kathryn Bigelow’s directorial featured Jeremy Renner, Guy Pearce, Anthony Mackie, and Evangeline Lily. Besides, the film also bagged some other awards including the Best Director, Best Sound Editing, Best Film Editing, Best Original Screenplay, and Best Sound Mixing at that time.

2011 – The King’s Speech

The Kings Speech

Following The Hurt Locker, at the 83rd Academy Awards in 2011, The King’s Speech was awarded as the Best Picture. The cast of Tom Hooper’s masterpiece included Colin Firth, Guy Pearce, and Geoffrey Rush. The movie was also titled as the Best Director, Best Actor for Colin Firth, and Best Original Screenplay.

2012 – The Artist

The Artist

Being judging as the Best Picture of 2012 Academy Awards held on February 26th, The Artist is a product of Michel Hazanavicius. The film starred Jean Dujardin, John Goodman, Berenice Bejo, Beth Grant, and James Cromwell. Apart from it, it also won some other categories of Best Director, Best Original Score, Best Actor for Jean Dujardin, and Best Costume Design.

2013 – Argo


The film getting the honor of the Best Picture award at the 85th Academy Awards was Argo. Under Ang Lee’s direction, the movie attracted a lot of views with the appearance of Ben Affleck, John Goodman, Bryan Cranston, and Alan Arkin. Also in the same Oscars, Argo topped the awards of Best Director, Best Film Editing, and Best Adapted Screenplay.

2014 – 12 Years a Slave

12 Years A Slave

On March 2nd, 2014, Steve McQueen’s film 12 Years a Slave took home the Best Picture award at the Oscars. Chiwetel Ejiofor, Brad Pitt, Lupita Nyong’o, Benedict Cumberbatch, Michael Fassbender, and Sarah Paulson joined the main cast of the film. It also bagged some more awards such as the Best Supporting Actress for Lupita Nyong’o and Best Adapted Screenplay at the 86th Academy Awards.

2015 – Birdman


The 87th Oscars award help on February 22nd, 2015 witnessed the crown of Birdman for the Best Picture. The film was directed by Alejandro G. Inarritu and featured Michael Keaton, Zach Galifianakis, Emma Stone, and Amy Ryan. Not only the Best Picture but Birdman was also crowned for the Best Director, Best Cinematography, and Best Original Screenplay at the same time.

2016 – Spotlight


The Best Picture award of 2016 Academy Awards was given to Spotlight, Tom McCarthy’s directorial. The Oscar-winning film marked the appearance of Mark Ruffalo, Rachel McAdams, Michael Keaton, and Live Schreiber. Furthermore, it added the Best Original Screenplay award to its collection that year.

2017 – Moonlight


Moonlight is the next one in the list of Oscars-winning films through 2010-2019 decade when it achieved the award of the Best Picture at the ceremony organized on February 26th, 2017. Barry Jenkins’s film had Mahershala Ali, Ashton Sangers, and Trevante Rhodes in the lead roles. The film also brought the Best Supporting Actor award for Mahershala Ali as well as Best Adapted Screenplay.

2018 – The Shape of Water

The Shape Of Water

The mainstream of the Best Picture award was followed by Guillermo del Toro’s The Shape of Water at the 90th Academy Awards. Starring Sally Hawkins, Michael Shannon, Richard Jenkins, and Octavia Spencer in the main cast, the movie was also given some other awards of the Best Director, Best Production Design, and Best Original Score.

2019 – Green Book

Green Book

Ending the decade with the award of Best Picture, Green Book also brightened its name in the 91st Academy Awards by some others including Best Supporting Actor for Mahershala Ali and Best Original Screenplay. The final film in the Oscars list of the decade was directed by Peter Farrelly and owned a powerful star cast of Viggo Mortensen, Mahershala Ali, and Linda Cardellini.


Sort by Newest | Popular

Next Story